Writing Tip: Writing Exercise #9: Using Body Language to Express Emotion

wtotw

Writing Exercise #9: Decide on a certain emotion for a character to feel (anger/sadness/joy/etc) and write a paragraph about it using body language.

>

>

>

>

Here’s mine:

Narrowing my eyes, I face the wall, looking straight at the picture of my ex. Balling my hands into fists, I release a long stream of carbon dioxide, trying to calm myself down. Instead, I grit my teeth, unable to stop seeing red. That lying, cheating–and then I’m storming over to the picture. In one fluid motion I rip it from the wall and hurl it down to the floor, watching the glass shatter into a million pieces. Letting out a growl of rage, I lift my right foot and step right where his smug face is smiling at me.

 

I also found this great cheat sheet for emotions and body language!

 

 

jncname

One thought on “Writing Tip: Writing Exercise #9: Using Body Language to Express Emotion

Leave a Comment

