Book Review–Crazy by Amy Reed

brotw

 

This is the 16th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Crazy by Amy Reed
Published June 12th 2012 by Simon Pulse

 

He’s falling in love,and she’s falling over the edge of sanity. From the author of Beautiful and Clean, a heart-wrenching exploration of a romance marred by mental illness.

Connor knows that Izzy will never fall in love with him the way he’s fallen for her. But somehow he’s been let into her crazy, exhilarating world and become her closest confidante. But the closer they get, the more Connor realizes that Izzy’s highs are too high and her lows are too low. And the frenetic energy that makes her shine is starting to push her into a much darker place.


As Izzy’s behavior gets increasingly erratic and self-destructive, Connor gets increasingly desperate to stop her from plummeting. He knows he can’t save her from her pain…but what if no one else can

——

I have heard nothing but fantastic reception when it comes to Amy Reed’s books. So I was pretty psyched when I FINALLY got my hands on one. The synopsis was intriguing, too. Teen issues are one of my favorites to read about.

I’m typically not a big fan of books that use letters between characters to communicate, but after finishing this, I’m not sure it would have worked without them. Reed did an excellent job building a story and relationships through the e-mails. As I was reading, this played out like one of those great indie movies in my head. I kept picturing scenes of them writing the e-mails while flashbacks of whatever they were talking about would overlay the text. It was pretty awesome.

The characters themselves seemed fairly realistic and seems true to the disorder as I’ve known what it is like to love someone with it. Not a romantic love, but the frustration is still there. I really liked Connor and Isabel. They both had their flaws yet were also irresistible in their own ways. Their relationship was also pretty interesting. I absolutely loved the end.

Parts of this book got so intense that it brought tears to my eyes. It wasn’t one of those books that I had trouble putting down all the time, but there were parts in which I would have to pause for real life and be annoyed that I wasn’t able to find out what was coming next. Parts where I would do my real life activities and imagine what might happen once I picked up the book again.

Definitely recommended. Didn’t quite fall into 5 stars/LOVE category for me, but I really liked it. I’m going to say 4.5 stars since 4 doesn’t seem like quite enough yet I also don’t feel it was 5 stars worthy for me. But really close. Looking forward to more Amy Reed books now.

 

4halfstars

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

