Book Review–Kristy’s Great Idea (The Baby-Sitters Club #1) by Ann M. Martin

brotw

Since not much has changed in regards to my last What I’m Working On post, I’m going to post another book review instead.

This is the 17th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Kristy’s Great Idea (The Baby-Sitters Club #1) by Ann M. Martin
Published August 1st 1986 by Scholastic Paperbacks

 

Kristy thinks the Baby-sitters Club is a great idea. She and her friends Claudia, Stacey and Mary Anne all love taking care of kids. A club will give them the chance to have lots of fun-and make tons of money.

But nobody counted on crank calls, uncontrollable two-year-olds, wild pets, and parents who don’t always tell the truth. And then there’s Stacey, who’s acting more and more mysterious. Having a baby-sitters club isn’t easy, but Kristy and her friends aren’t giving up until they get it right!

 

——

My friends loved these in elementary school, but for some reason I never got into them. Guess I was too ensnared by Goosebumps and similar books. I’ve seen the movie so I hoped to one day read at least one of the books to see how they were.

I probably would have really liked these when I was younger. It’s definitely dated and has that 90s feel and writing (like the author describing what every single character is wearing each day and such) but I enjoyed it. It was a short and easy read, but still liked it even though I am way over the intended audience.

Younger girls would probably still like these. I’ll probably see about reading the rest of the series because now I want to find out what happens with the girls. I see character development and relationship potentials. It was neat to see some harder issues–like divorce, step-parents, etc–discussed. I enjoyed the characters, settings, and the plot. Interested to see what happens next for the girls.

 

 

 

4stars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

