The Book vs the Movie (TV Show): The Secret Cirle

bvm

secret-circle

Book written by L.J. Smith, 1992

Show developed by Andrew Miller, 2011-2012

Today’s comparison is actually a TV show instead of a movie, since I am beginning to run out of ideas. Since there are several TV shows based on books, particularly YA ones, I figure I might as well include them.

If you have any movie suggestions I’ve missed, please let me know. I am still waiting to see: Vampire Academy, Divergent, The Fault in Our Stars, If I Stay.

Thinking about re-reading Carrie and comparing it to the three movies based off of it. Petals on the Wind also comes out at the end of the month so I am definitely going to be doing a Book vs Movie on that.

 

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

Cassie is initiated into her hometown’s coven of witches but her love for the coven leader’s boyfriend could prove deadly.

 

 

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

VS

Picture Source: cwtv.com
Picture Source: cwtv.com

 

Which I Viewed First: The show.

Which I Enjoyed Most: Honestly? Both, in different ways.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 4 stars.

Out of 5 stars, the Show Gets: 4 stars.

Things the Book Did Better: Despite loving Britt Robertson in the show and as an actress, I liked Cassie’s character better in the book. I also liked some of the other characters better and felt the plot overall was stronger.

Things the Show Did Better: The book had too many characters in the circle (12!) so I kept mixing some of them up or certain members had little personality. The show halves this number. The plot is different from the book. Not quite as strong but still interesting.

Verdict?: Both.

Why?: While I did have a difficult time getting into the show, once I did I really enjoyed it. Both the book and movie have different characters/personalities, and changes in the plot/subplots, similar to The Vampire Diaries and Pretty Little Liars. I enjoy both for what they are and can’t pick one over the other.

Should the show be re-made?: No, but I think the show should be brought back.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

