Book Review–Anything to Have You by Paige Harbison

brotw

 

This is the 19th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Anything to Have You by Paige Harbison
Published January 28th 2014 by Harlequin Teen

 

Nothing should come between best friends, not even boys. ESPECIALLY not boys.

Natalie and Brooke have had each other’s backs forever. Natalie is the quiet one, college bound and happy to stay home and watch old movies. Brooke is the movie—the life of every party, the girl everyone wants to be.

Then it happens—one crazy night that Natalie can’t remember and Brooke’s boyfriend, Aiden, can’t forget. Suddenly there’s a question mark in Natalie and Brooke’s friendship that tests everything they thought they knew about each other and has both girls discovering what true friendship really means.

 

——

Warning: The following review contains spoilers. To read the spoiler-free version, please go here.

 

I won a copy of this book from the Goodreads First Reads Giveaway program. Many thanks to the publisher/author for giving me the chance to read and review this book from the Goodreads First Reads program.

I’m honestly torn on this one. I really enjoyed the writing and Natalie’s voice, but there are aspects of this book that are troublesome. Also, I hated Brooke most of the time. Not good when she is one of the POVS.

The book came across as mostly realistic and I liked Natalie’s character. Aiden, Eric, and Natalie’s dad, too. Brooke was unlikable for at least 95% of the time. Normally I always feel bad when someone gets cheated on, but I only felt sorry for her until I saw her side. She’s a freaking hypocrite. She may have not slept with Reed while she was with Aiden, but she flirted hardcore, kissed him, and thought about him. Sorry, but that’s still cheating.

Natalie and Aiden had great chemistry. However, I didn’t much care for the “twist.” It really wasn’t much of a twist for me. Maybe I know too much about the subject from reading other books or doing research for my own, but it was pretty obvious. I honestly felt bad for Aiden and Eric for being strung along for most of the book, though.

As much as I disliked Brooke, I did like some of the better friendship moments with her and Natalie. But unfortunately most of the time Brooke just pissed me off with her attitude and hypocrisy.

I like that the author addressed real issues that teens may face, but I’m also concerned about the “blackout” incident. Natalie seems way less concerned about having sex and not remembering it than any person I know. I’m torn because I really liked Aiden, but did he get her consent to sleep with Natalie? That didn’t seem clear to me. Would have liked to see her freak out about it a bit more and at least get herself checked out. Not sure blacking out was the best way to go though I know the author wanted to tie it into the twist. But really, I’m pretty sure the reader knows–at least I knew from the beginning–who Natalie had sex with. It’s obvious.

I would have given this 4 stars if Brooke had been at least a bit more likable and if the date-rape thing had been a bit more clearer (reading it as is makes me confused on whether it was date rape or not because Natalie was too cool about it!). As it is, I’m going with 3.5 because I did enjoy this book–at least Natalie’s POV, anyway. Book has some issues but was a good emotional read.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

 

3halfstars

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

