Book Review–Blonde Ops by Charlotte Bennardo & Natalie Zaman

brotw

 

This is the 26th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Blonde Ops by Charlotte Bennardo & Natalie Zaman
Published May 6th 2014 by St. Martin’s Griffin

 

Pitched as The Devil Wears Prada meets James Bond for teens, featuring a fashion magazine intern in Rome who uncovers a plot to kidnap the First Lady.

Expelled from yet another boarding school for hacking, sixteen-year-old Rebecca “Bec” Jackson is shipped off to Rome to intern for Parker Phillips, the editor-in-chief of one of the world’s top fashion magazines. But when a mysterious accident lands Parker in a coma, former supermodel and notorious drama queen Candace Worthington takes the reins of the magazine. The First Lady is in Rome for a cover shoot, and all hands are on deck to make sure her visit goes smoothly.

Bec quickly realizes that Parker’s “accident” may not have been quite so accidental, and when the First Lady’s life is threatened, Bec is determined to uncover the truth. On top of that, Bec must contend with bitchy models, her new boss, Candace, who is just as difficult as the tabloids say, and two guys, a hunky Italian bike messenger with a thousand-watt smile and a fashion blogger with a razor-sharp wit, who are both vying for her heart.

Can Bec catch the person who’s after the First Lady, solve the mystery of Parker’s accident, and juggle two cute boys at the same time? Blonde Ops is a fun, action-packed romp through the hallways of a fashion magazine and the cobblestone streets of Rome.

 

 

——

I won a copy of this book from the Goodreads First Reads Giveaway program. Many thanks to the publisher/author for giving me the chance to read and review this book from the Goodreads First Reads program.

***This review may contain slight spoilers***

Blonde Ops is certainly not what I was expecting. The characters were interesting and likable for the most part, the book is set in Rome, Italy, a place I really want to go, and the plot is fun. I also enjoyed the writing style and POV. There’s also a fashion tip at the beginning of each chapter that ties in with the entire fashion element.

The main character, Bec, was easily likable and probably one of the most unique characters that I’ve seen in a while. I liked that her plans didn’t always work out and that she often got caught–it gave an element of realism to the character and to the book. The one thing that I didn’t like about her is regarding a love triangle she finds herself in. She seemed to have no trouble kissing whichever boy she happens to be with and had very little emotions concerning the love triangle at all. While I thought the love triangle wasn’t too bad, it just seemed a bit odd that she didn’t seem too concerned about it all. Not even a little.

The side characters were also interesting and likable. There’s Parker, Bec’s guardian and head of The Edge fashion magazine. Sophie, Bec’s closest “friend” in the book, is sweet. I even grew to like Candace and Kevin, who both start out as being unlikable in the beginning. I also liked Agent Ortiz, which is also kind of sad (you’ll see why if you read the book). The First Lady was also pretty likable and cool.

I felt both love interests worked for the triangle, though I liked Dante much better than Taj. I figured there was something off about Taj–and I was right. I just won’t say what was off. Still, not a bad love triangle. Though I’m definitely “Team” Dante.

The setting was a blast to read from. If anything this book makes me want to go to Italy even more now. The descriptions almost made me feel like I was actually there.

All in all, if you like fashion and/or spy-themed stories with interesting characters set in a beautiful location, you’ll love it. If you’re not sure, you’ll probably still love it. I’ve never really read a book quite like this one but I highly recommend it.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. These opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated for this review.

 

 

 

4halfstars

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

