Camp NaNo: Day 1-3 (Plus my Playlist for The Birthday Bash)

2014-Participant-Facebook-Cover

 

 

Hey guys. So Camp NaNoWriMo started July 1st. I didn’t quite finish my outline, but since The Birthday Bash was a short story to begin with, I’m trying to follow that basic plot and add in the details as I go along. I guess honestly I haven’t decided what changes I want to make in order to extend the original into a full length novel.

 

I’m at 10,180 words and I’ve finished the first ten chapters. It was a little hard to start (it always seems to be for me most of the time so nothing new), but once I get going, I’m pretty much good. I cranked out a lot of words today. Who knew libraries could be such an awesome work environment?

I predict I’ll do fine until the end comes around. I have this habit of finding it hard to meet the 50K end goal. My books tend to end just shy of that in the rough draft stage and I find myself having to add extra parts to meet the 50K word requirement. But this year my fingers are crossed that I won’t have to do that (because honestly, it sucks).

 

So far I like the way the book is going. While I like the original, I can already see that the book is going to be better and more detailed. And I’m still excited to see where the story goes next, which is always good.

 

Below is my music playlist for the story in case you’re interested. The idea for The Birthday Bash was inspired by The Birthday Massacre’s song “Happy Birthday” as well as the songs about bullying.

 

  • White Teeth Teens by Lorde
  • Everybody’s Fool by Evanescence
  • Bully by Shinedown
  • Thoughtless by Korn
  • It Ends Tonight by All-American Rejects
  • I Get Wicked by Thousand Foot Krutch
  • Made of Stone by Evanescence
  • Fall Again by Professional Murder Music
  • Blue Monday by Orgy
  • Happy Birthday by The Birthday Massacre
  • Play With Fire by The Birthday Massacre
  • Burn it Down by Linkin Park
  • The Mighty Fall by Fall Out Boy
  • Horror Show by The Birthday Massacre
  • Leaving Tonight by The Birthday Massacre
  • Wrapped in Your Arms by Fireflight
  • Monster by Imagine Dragons
  • Keep the Streets Empty for Me by Fever Ray
  • Strange Days by Bryan Ellis
  • Juno by Rob/Chloe Alper
  • Beyond the Veil by Lindsey Stirling

 

Well, that’s it for now. If you want daily updates, follow me on Twitter or Facebook. Otherwise I will update my progress at the end of the week. I will be posting book reviews in the meantime.

 

And if you’re participating in Camp NaNo as well, I hope you are achieving your goals. Remember to have fun with it and best of luck in attaining your final goal!

 

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

