Book Review–The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

brotw

 

This is the 29th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
Published June 1st 1994 by Warner Books

 

The five Lisbon sisters are brought up in a strict household, and when the youngest kills herself, the oppression of the remaining sisters intensifies. As Therese, Mary, Bonnie and Lux are pulled deeper into isolation by their domineering mother, a group of neighborhood boys become obsessed with liberating the sisters. But what the boys don’t know is, the Lisbon girls are beyond saving.

 

——

I’m not quite sure how to feel about this one. I believe I felt the same about the movie when I watched it a few years ago, though I don’t remember most of the details. However, this was a book that I found hard to put down. While I didn’t love it, nor necessarily “like” it, I also felt compelled to keep reading. I figure that has to count for something.

This book is strange but definitely has that haunting quality to it. The story itself is tragic and made me wonder about the Lisbon girls just as much as the boy(s) telling the story. The writing was very good, though tended to get lengthy in description at times. The author did a great job at bringing the story and setting to life with his words, though.

I felt terrible for the girls–and at times for the boys–but at the same time everyone is kept at a safe distance so it’s hard to get too attached to any of them. For some reason I found myself feeling the worst for Mary out of the girls (after Cecilia, of course). The worst thing about this book is all the questions I had while reading it, especially once it had ended. Questions that will never be answered.

Definitely worth a read, though the reviews for this one seem to be a love or hate scenario. Probably will never read this again, but I’ll definitely have to see if the author has written anything else. Color me intrigued.

 

3stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

