Book Review–Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

brotw

 

This is the 33rd book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

17290286
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell
Published October 1st 2013 by Harry N. Abrams

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith.

With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

 

 

——

 

While this wasn’t a book that was difficult to put down like my last read, I really enjoyed this one and nearly ran over my lunch break trying to finish it.

I admit, the concept of bucket lists have always intrigued me. You can tell a lot about a person from their bucket list. So it was pretty neat reading a book where someone tries to complete another person’s bucket list.

While the plot was fun and the writing was good, it’s really the characters that made the book for me. I loved the characters and all of their little quirks. The relationships between “Rebel” Blue and the other characters were also interesting. I adored the love interest and the fact that the relationship was far from perfect. I’m also a sucker for anyone who likes and does art. The sea-glass frames Rebel makes sounded really cool.

This was a fun yet somewhat deep read. Was a little disappointed with the ending as it felt rushed, but overall I wouldn’t change much about this book. Will definitely be looking into more books by this author.

 

 

4halfstars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

jncname

Advertisements

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s