Book Review–I Swear by Lane Davis

Hey guys, I’ve decided to skip the Book vs Movie for this week. Please be patient with me as I am in the middle of re-designing the blog. I will post an announcement once it is completely revamped. Thank you for your patience!

 

brvws14

 

This is the 40th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

I Swear by Lane Davis
Published September 4th 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

 

Who’s to blame when bullying leads to suicide? A gripping exploration of crucial importance seeks answers in and out of the courtroom.

After years of abuse from her classmates, Leslie Gatlin decided she had no other options and took her own life. Now her abusers are dealing with the fallout.

When Leslie’s parents file a wrongful death lawsuit against their daughter’s tormenters, the proceedings uncover the systematic cyber bullying and harassment that occurred. The ringleader of the accused girls, Macie, maintains they are innocent. In her mind, Leslie chose be the coward they always knew she was.

Jillian, Katherine, and Beth try to keep their stories straight and shift the blame, as Jake, Leslie’s only true friend, tries to make sense of what happened. As the events leading up to her death unfold, it becomes clear that Leslie may have taken her own life, but her bullies took everything else.

Told in alternating perspectives and through well-paced flashbacks, this timely novel sheds light on both the victims of bullying and the consequences bullies face.

 

 

——

This ended up being a very interesting and thought-provoking read. It’s told by five POVS, which while at times got a bit confusing, was neat. Why? Because each of these characters have something to do with a girl’s suicide.

This isn’t a light or easy read. I imagine if you have been viciously bullied or know close friends who have been bullied, it may trigger some emotions for you.

I liked reading from the different point-of-views. For the most part, I felt each one was different and that they didn’t blend together. Though I admit I did have to go back and re-read a few things because I got some of the details concerning certain people mixed up.

Beth, Katherine, and Jake were probably my favorite POVs to read from. I actually felt bad for these three, even though one of these people were a huge reason in which their “friend” decides to kill herself.

This book definitely kept my attention and made my emotions soar. Suicide itself is sad. Suicide due to feeling so alienated and bullied that you no longer feel you have anything left to live for is even more so. I almost cried for Leslie. Especially when all of the flashbacks the different characters were having began to paint a more vivid picture of what went down.

This should be recommended reading for teenagers, especially those who feel the need to bully others. Bullying seems to be becoming even more vicious than I remember it being. No one should feel like Leslie did, though I’m sure many teenagers feel just like her, or have similar feelings.

The only thing that really bothered me about this book (minus the obvious, which is targeted to bother you), was the errors that didn’t get caught. I dismiss a few here and there, but this book seemed to be filled with them.

Overall a good read that will hopefully get some to think a second longer about how their behavior can affect others.

 

 

3stars

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

