Book Review–The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, & June by Robin Benway

brvws14

 

This is the 41st book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

aprilmayjune

The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, & June by Robin Benway
Published June 1st , 2010 by Razorbill

 

I hugged my sisters and they fit against my sides like two jigsaw pieces that would never fit anywhere else. I couldn’t imagine ever letting them go again, like releasing them would be to surrender the best parts of myself.

Three sisters share a magical, unshakeable bond in this witty high-concept novel from the critically acclaimed author of Audrey, Wait! Around the time of their parents’ divorce, sisters April, May, and June recover special powers from childhood–powers that come in handy navigating the hell that is high school. Powers that help them cope with the hardest year of their lives. But could they have a greater purpose?

 

April, the oldest and a bit of a worrier, can see the future. Middle-child May can literally disappear. And baby June reads minds–everyone’s but her own. When April gets a vision of disaster, the girls come together to save the day and reconcile their strained family. They realize that no matter what happens, powers or no powers, they’ll always have each other.

 

Because there’s one thing stronger than magic: sisterhood.

 

 

——

A cute book about three very different sisters (named April, May, and June no less) who discover they have super powers.

The characters were portrayed so realistically that I felt like I’d been pulled right into the book. I adored the relationships between the sisters, their mom, and the love interests. The girls are also struggling with a recent divorce between their parents, which I can kind of empathize with.

May is probably my favorite out of the three, though I like them all in their way.

If you’re looking for a light, fun read, I recommend this one.

.

4stars

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

