The Book vs the Movie (TV Show): The Vampire Diaries

bvm14

 

vdtitle

Book written by L.J. Smith, 1991
Show developed by Kevin Williamson and Julie Plec, 2009-current

 

 

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

 

A Love Triangle of Unspeakable Horror…

Elena
Searching for the ultimate thrill, she vowed to have Stefan.

Stefan
Haunted by his tragic past, he struggled to resist her passion.

Damon
Driven by revenge, he hunted the brother who betrayed him.

The terrifying story of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them.

 

 

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

VS

Picture Source: www.themagazine.ca
Picture Source: http://www.themagazine.ca

Which I Viewed First: The show.

Which I Enjoyed Most: The show.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 2 stars.

Out of 5 stars, the Show Gets: 5 stars.

Things the Book Did Better: The only thing I liked about the books I read (I read the first two or three) was honestly the writing style.  I didn’t care for Elena at all. The only side characters I liked were Damon and Bonnie, and I still like both of those better in the show.

Things the Show Did Better: Everything. The books were just “okay” for me. The show blew and still does continue to blow me away. I never know what to expect. The characters, plot, setting, everything is more vivid. Nina Dobrev makes Elena much more likable than in the book. I actually love the entire cast, especially Ian Somerhalder.

Verdict?: Show.

Why?: As stated above, the show was just much more vivid to me and the characters were more likable than in the book.

Should the show be re-made?: No.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

