Book Review–Burning Emerald by Jaime Reed (The Cambion Chronicles #2)

brvws14

 

This is the 42nd book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Burning Emerald by Jaime Reed (The Cambion Chronicles #2)
Published January 1st, 2012 by Dafina

 

Dating the most popular guy in school is every girl’s fantasy. But to Samara Marshall, he’s a dangerous force come to rekindle their tangled past. Only it’s not her past… Samara faces a challenging senior year. Controlling her inner demon is a struggle, even with help from her Cambion boyfriend, Caleb.

But her life takes a turn for the worse when the hottest jock in school begins pursuing her-especially since Malik’s anything but what he seems. They share a connection from a forgotten past-a secret that could destroy her and Caleb.

As the attraction becomes harder to resist, Samara is now at the mercy of the demon within her. To break free, Sam must fight a battle where she is the enemy and the prize…and victory will come at a deadly price.

 

 

——

 

I didn’t like this one nearly as much as the first, but I still enjoyed it. It was interesting to see how things continued for Sam and Caleb after the events of the first book. There’s a few new characters in this one, including a “bad” guy love interest. While I usually cringe at love triangles, this was one I could live with because I felt it was realistic considering.

I liked how Sam and her mother’s relationship seemed to have gotten closer. Caleb and Sam’s relationship goes through some changes that I felt were pretty realistic. I also liked the tension between Sam and Tobias, though I’m definitely a “Cake Boy” fan.

The Halloween party scene was probably my favorite. The plot did seem to get a little draggy near the end. However, the end was a nice twist that I wasn’t expecting at all. It definitely makes me wonder what will happen next. I’ll be reading that shortly.

 

3halfstars

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

