Book Review–I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle

brvws14

 

 

This is the 46th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

bethcooper I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle
Published January 1st, 2007 by Harper

 

Denis Cooverman wanted to say something really important in his high school graduation speech. So, in front of his 512 classmates and their 3,000 relatives, he announced: “I love you Beth Cooper.” It could have been such a sweet, romantic moment. Except that Beth, the head cheerleader, has only the vaguest idea who Denis is.  And Denis, the captain of the debate team, is so far out of her league he is barely even the same species. And Kevin, Beth’s remarkably large boyfriend, is in town on furlough from the United States Army. Complications Ensue.

 

 

——

 

I really wanted to like this one, I did. I’m a big fan of “underdog” type stories. However, this was just bad. I figured it would be bad once I started reading. The writing style immediately turned me off. I think the author was trying to be funny in an absurd kind of way, but all the writing did for me was give me a headache. The writing tried too hard, in other words. There were a few lines that did make me chuckle, but not enough to change my mind about the overall book.

The characters are not really likable at all. Not even Denis Cooverman, our underdog. It was hard to feel sorry for him, relate to him, even like him. This from a girl who was nowhere near popular in high school. The “gay” best friend, Rich, was somewhat better, but his movie cast trivia got annoying after the first few times. Beth Cooper isn’t likable at all. I know sometimes the worst people can be considered popular and desirable, but I couldn’t see what the big deal was. Same for her friends. And we won’t even go into the lame army-type dudes who seem to need some mental help.

The plot itself wasn’t bad, but since I was stuck with the before mentioned characters, it was not very enjoyable. The book began to drag on and I found myself only being able to read a few pages a day (sad when I typically finish a book within two to three days). There was a moment near the middle where I thought this might actually get better. But then it started getting bad for me again and that hope was squashed.

I’m not sure there is anything redemptive about this book for me. It wasn’t all that funny. I didn’t really like it at all. I only stuck through with it because I want to compare it to the movie. Hopefully the movie is at least somewhat better. Definitely not for me.

 

 

 

halfstar(2)

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

