The Book vs the Movie: Carrie (Original)

bvm14

carrie

Book written by Stephen King, 1974
Movie directed by Brian De Palma, 1976

 

 

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

 

The story of misfit high-school girl, Carrie White, who gradually discovers that she has telekinetic powers. Repressed by a domineering, ultra-religious mother and tormented by her peers at school, her efforts to fit in lead to a dramatic confrontation during the senior prom.

 

10592

VS

carrie-1976-poster

 

This year I decided to compare the Carrie novel to the three film adaptations. To refresh my memory, I listened to the audio book, which is read by Sissy Spacek (who plays Carrie in the original movie). I highly recommend it if you are a fan of Carrie or audio books.

 

Which I Viewed First: Not sure–I think the book.

Which I Enjoyed Most: Difficult decision, but Book.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 4.5 stars.

Out of 5 stars, the Movie Gets: 4 stars.

Things the Book Did Better: More info about Carrie’s life and the aftermath, Case study notes were interesting (reactions to the event), enjoyed the ending better.

Things the Movie Did Better: Superb casting, liked that the gym teacher was more of a mentor to Carrie than in the book, liked the scene with Carrie and her mother near the end better than in the book.

Verdict?:  I enjoyed both quite a lot, though if I had to choose, I’d go with the book. But I also highly recommend the movie.

Why?: Just more enjoyable for me personally as a film.

Should the movie be re-made?: It already has been. I’ll give my final verdict on whether or not Carrie itself should be re-made again after comparing the latest movie, though I think we have plenty of adaptations.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

 

 

 

 

 

 

jncname

2 thoughts on “The Book vs the Movie: Carrie (Original)

  1. I loved the comparison. They were very actually very helpful. I am currently reading the book and I plan on watching one of the movies. Which one would you say represents the book the closest? I don’t mind how good or bad the movie was but which one was the most similar?

    1. Thank you. Glad to have helped! I believe the newest version (2013) was the closest, except the mother-daughter relationship wasn’t quite as close. The relationship in the other movies are closer. But I do recommend all of the movies. I like all of them, plus the book. If you become a Carrie fan, I also recommend the audiobook if you ever listen to those because Sissy Spacek, who is the first Carrie, is the reader. Hope you enjoy! Carrie was either my first or second King book.

Leave a Comment

