Book Review–Reached (Matched #3) by Ally Condie

brvws14

 

 

This is the 52nd book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Reached (Matched #3) by Ally Condie
Published November 13th 2012 by Penguin

 

After leaving Society to desperately seek The Rising, and each other, Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again. Cassia is assigned undercover in Central city, Ky outside the borders, an airship pilot with Indie. Xander is a medic, with a secret. All too soon, everything shifts again.

 

——

 

After listening to the first two books on audiobook to refresh my memory (I haven’t read them since they first came out), I was excited to find out how the series would end. I liked Matched pretty well and while I liked Crossed, it was also a really slow book.

Overall I liked Reached fairly well. Not as well as the first book but better than the second. Things went in a completely different direction than I was expecting. While the beginning drags some, when things began moving, the plot got way more exciting.

I think what I like most about these books is how the characters feel about choices, freedom, and art (visual, written word, songs, etc). The three POVs were interesting though at times I felt one would have sufficed. Though I guess it was nice to see more into different areas that we otherwise wouldn’t have seen.

The love triangle has gotten old, though. Actually, it got old in the last book, too. While I don’t really feel too strongly one way or another at this point, I was just ready for it to finally end. I figured Cassia would end up with the person she did at the end. At least unlike other series, the guy left behind also found someone to love though the relationship didn’t have as much development as I would have liked.

I liked how the first and second books were tied into this one and how things didn’t end up perfect at the end. It was realistic. Though I have to admit that I was pretty sad about Indie’s fate. She’s one character I found very interesting.

I’d probably give this one a 3.5, putting it between my rating of book one and two. Overall I enjoy the series and would probably re-read it again in the future.

 

 

3halfstars

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

