The Book vs the Movie: Carrie (TV Movie)

bvm14

carrietv

Book written by Stephen King, 1974
Movie directed by David Carson, 2002

 

 

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

 

The story of misfit high-school girl, Carrie White, who gradually discovers that she has telekinetic powers. Repressed by a domineering, ultra-religious mother and tormented by her peers at school, her efforts to fit in lead to a dramatic confrontation during the senior prom.

 

10592

VS

Picture Source: IMDB.com
Picture Source: IMDB.com

 

This year I decided to compare the Carrie novel to the three film adaptations. To refresh my memory, I listened to the audio book, which is read by Sissy Spacek (who plays Carrie in the original movie). I highly recommend it if you are a fan of Carrie or audio books. I have already compared the original movie to the book. Now I am comparing the TV movie that was made in 2002.

 

Which I Viewed First: The book and original movie.

Which I Enjoyed Most: Book.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 4.5 stars.

Out of 5 stars, the Movie Gets: 4 stars.

Things the Book Did Better: More info about Carrie’s life and the aftermath, Case study notes were interesting (reactions to the event).

Things the Movie Did Better: In a way, I liked this movie just a little more than the original movie because it was closer to the book.  I didn’t care for the actresses who played Carrie and her mother as much, though. The ending is a lot more different because there were plans of a TV show for Carrie that never went through.

Verdict?:  I enjoyed both quite a lot, though if I had to choose, I’d go with the book. But I also highly recommend the movie.

Should the movie be re-made?: It already has been. I’ll give my final verdict on whether or not Carrie itself should be re-made again after comparing the latest movie, though I think we have plenty of adaptations.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

