Book Review–Pandemonium (Delirium #2) by Lauren Oliver

brvws14

 

 

This is the 57th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Pandemonium (Delirium #2) by Lauren Oliver
Published January 1st 2012 by HarperTeen

 

I’m pushing aside
the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana
and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

 

——

 

Pandemonium is the sequel to Delirium. I decided to re-read these two books so I could start the third, which I never got to.

I loved Delirium, though not quite as much as I did when I first read it. I liked this one well enough but not as much as the first one. I love how Lena’s character is developing and also liked the new cast of characters, but it was a bit harder to get into.

I do like how the book alternated between the past and the present. It was probably the best way to handle the story without dragging things out. I liked the depth and details of how Lena survived in the Wilds, and how her life is in the present. I like the plot and several of the new characters–Blue, Sarah, Hunter, Tack, Raven. I especially liked Julian because he was such a complex character.

Like before, I could easily sympathize with Lena and the things she had to endure. I like the way this series is going. I already knew what happened at the end, but it’s always shocking enough that I have to re-read the last few lines again.

I didn’t feel this one was as good or riveting as the first, but it was still exciting and a nice addition to the series. My first read-through, I liked Julian better than Alex but this time the relationship seemed more hurried than before.

Can’t wait to see what happens in the next (and last?) book.

 

 

 

4stars

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

