Book Review–The Giver by Lois Lowry (The Giver Quartet #1)

brvws14

 

 

This is the 64th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

The Giver by Lois Lowry (The Giver Quartet #1)
Published 1993 by Laurel-Leaf Books

 

Jonas’s world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

 

——

When I first read this (sixth grade), I hated it. When I read it on my own, I fell in love with it.

I re-read this recently due to the movie being released. Even though the book’s target audience is more geared for middle grade, I believe readers of all ages can enjoy this story. I still love this story. It’s one of those books that have great characters and make you think.

The only thing I don’t like about this book is that it goes by so fast and that there isn’t much detail on how the world Jonas knows got to be that way–something that really interested me. However, I know there are three other books in the series so perhaps some answers will be in them.

This is a book that I can probably read in a few years again and still love–a classic. The world is interesting and scary, the characters are well-defined and make you care about them (particularly Jonas, the Giver, and Gabe for me), and has situations that make you think.

The scene with Jonas’ father and the twins always gets me every time. A truly horrifying scene.

Definitely recommended for all.

 

5stars

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

