Book Review–Me, Him, Them, & It by Caela Carter

brvws14

 

 

This is the 67th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Me, Him, Them, & It by Caela Carter
Published February 26th 2013 by Bloomsbury

 

ME is Evelyn Jones, 16, a valedictorian hopeful who’s been playing bad girl to piss off THEM, her cold, distant parents. HIM is Todd, Evelyn’s secret un-boyfriend, who she thought she was just using for sex – until she accidentally fell in love with him. But before Evelyn gets a chance to tell Todd how she feels, something much more important comes up. IT. IT is a fetus. Evelyn is pregnant – and when Todd turns his back on her, Evelyn has no idea who to turn to. Can a cheating father, a stiff, cold mother, a pissed-off BFF, and a (thankfully!) loving aunt with adopted girls of her own help Evelyn make the heart-wrenching decisions that follow?

 

——

 

At first, I wasn’t sure I was going to like this book at all. Evie, the main character, was hard to relate to, though I found the overall story intriguing. However, as I read on, I grew to actually like and be able to relate to Evie. I loved her relationship with Mary, the woman at Planned Parenthood, as well as that with her aunts and little cousins. I felt bad for her situation with her parents and her pregnancy. I was ready to support any decision she wanted to make.

I felt this book explored teen pregnancy and the hard decisions that must be made very realistically. It was nice to see a realistic and non-biased look at all of the options. I also like how religion even played a small role.

This book really played with my emotions. My heart about broke for Evie toward the end. While I don’t believe she researched her option as well as she should have, I also know that young women like Evie make rash decisions and end up feeling much like she did toward the end.

If you want a realistic teen pregnancy book that doesn’t demonize any options (abortion, adoption, or keeping it) that also might play with your heartstrings, this book is definitely for you.

 

 

 

4halfstars

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

