What I’m Working On: November 2014 Update #5: NaNoWriMo 2014

wiwo14

 

Hey guys, apologies for the lack of posts. With Thanksgiving and the end of NaNoWriMo, I simply haven’t had the time to post.

 

Early this morning (around 1:30-2 a.m.) I finished NaNoWriMo at 51,778 words! I originally thought Our Reasons would be around 55K, but it ended a little shorter than I expected. Which is okay–there is always the re-write.

 

Winner-2014-Twitter-Profile

 

I haven’t calculated how many days I actually needed to write Our Reasons. Probably around 22-25 since I missed a few days during the month. I’m very happy with the rough draft overall. I did make a huge error but it would have required re-writing to fix it so I decided to just wait and fix that in the edits. This is the first YA Romance Novel that I’ve ever finished. While most of my books have a hint of romance, I haven’t done a full on romance book for a while. Even though I consider it a romance, it’s not all rainbows and sunshine. It’s still a book that deals with serious issues such as depression, suicide, family problems, and guilt.

 

I also haven’t written a full book from dual back-and-forth POVs. It was very interesting, challenging at times, but definitely works in Our Reasons. The novel was also halfway planned and halfway written as I went along, which was also interesting and worked. Overall I am very happy with this year’s NaNoWriMo experience and cannot wait to see how this looks once it’s been re-written and polished. I have plans to post this one on Swoon Reads. I also plan to start the re-writes within a few months.

 

How did NaNoWriMo go for you? Are you finished yet? Hurry, hurry, there’s not much time left!

 

As for December, I have decided to kick off the month with a giveaway so please stay tuned! We will also be going back to our regular schedule–Book Recommendation, Book Review, Book vs Movie, Book Review, and What I’m Working On. This will probably change some for 2015, but for now I am going to finish the year with consistency. Thanks so much for hanging with me as I did NaNoWriMo!

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

