Book Review–The House of Dead Maids by Clare B. Dunkle

brvws14

 

 

This is the 80th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

The House of Dead Maids by Clare B. Dunkle
Published September 14th 2010 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

 

Young Tabby Aykroyd has been brought to the dusty mansion of Seldom House to be nursemaid to a foundling boy. He is a savage little creature, but the Yorkshire moors harbor far worse, as Tabby soon discovers. The ghost of the last maid will not leave Tabby in peace, yet this spirit is only one of many. Why do scores of dead maids and masters haunt Seldom House with a jealous devotion that extends beyond the grave?

As Tabby struggles to escape the evil forces rising out of the land, she watches her young charge choose a different path. He is determined to keep Seldom House as his own. Though Tabby tries to befriend the uncouth urchin, her kindness cannot alter his fate. Long before he reaches the old farmhouse of Wuthering Heights, the boy who will become Heathcliff has doomed himself and any who try to befriend him.

 

 

 

——

This book is geared more toward middle grade though I found in the Young Adult section, but I decided to read on. The cover is what drew me, though the synopsis sounded interesting. And although I personally hated Wuthering Heights, I decided to read it anyway.

This was one of those books that took me a while to get through, even though it’s short in length. The author failed to hook me at the beginning and I just felt “meh” about the entire story and most of the characters.

The only character I truly liked was Himself. The main character, Tabby, got on my nerves. She was so self-righteous that I wanted to strangle her most of the time. While her faith did eventually come in handy, I still didn’t care for her.

And while the illustrations before each chapter are kind of creepy, this book wasn’t as creepy as I was expecting. The plot near the end made little sense to me, especially concerning the tie to Wuthering Heights.

Not the worst book I’ve ever read, but I don’t plan on ever re-reading it nor recommending. Could have been better.

 

1halfstar

 

 

jncname

 

Leave a Comment

