Book Review–Game (Jasper Dent #2) by Barry Lyga

brvws14

 

This is the 86th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Game (Jasper Dent #2) by Barry Lyga
Published April 16th, 2013 by Little Brown Books for Young Readers

 

Billy grinned. “Oh, New York,” he whispered. “We’re gonna have so much fun.”

I Hunt Killers introduced the world to Jazz, the son of history’s most infamous serial killer, Billy Dent.

In an effort to prove murder didn’t run in the family, Jazz teamed with the police in the small town of Lobo’s Nod to solve a deadly case. And now, when a determined New York City detective comes knocking on Jazz’s door asking for help, he can’t say no. The Hat-Dog Killer has the Big Apple–and its police force–running scared. So Jazz and his girlfriend, Connie, hop on a plane to the big city and get swept up in a killer’s murderous game.

 

——

 

I would have liked to re-read the first book to refresh my memory, but I didn’t have time. However, it ended up not being too much of a problem since this one recapped some of the important events from the last book.

I didn’t like this one as much as I Hunt Killers, but I did like the interaction between the characters, particularly Jasper and Connie, Connie and Adam. It was also cool to see more of Billy Dent, though at the same time his character kind of makes my skin crawl.

Honestly, I really didn’t care for the new setting or the “game” itself. I also missed the presence of William G, though the few scenes we had was funny. I’m intrigued by the addition of Jasper’s aunt and also what happened to his grandmother.

The last 15% of the book did get pretty intense, though. Now I have no choice but to read the last book in the series.

 

 

3stars

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

