Book Review–Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler

brvws14

 

This is the 92nd book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler
Published January 3rd, 2012 by Simon Pulse

 

Once upon a time, Hudson knew exactly what her future looked like. Then a betrayal changed her life, and knocked her dreams to the ground. Now she’s a girl who doesn’t believe in second chances… a girl who stays under the radar by baking cupcakes at her mom’s diner and obsessing over what might have been.

So when things start looking up and she has another shot at her dreams, Hudson is equal parts hopeful and terrified. Of course, this is also the moment a cute, sweet guy walks into her life… and starts serving up some seriously mixed signals. She’s got a lot on her plate, and for a girl who’s been burned before, risking it all is easier said than done.

It’s time for Hudson to ask herself what she really wants, and how much she’s willing to sacrifice to get it. Because in a place where opportunities are fleeting, she knows this chance may very well be her last…

 

 

——

 

A lot of reviewers mentioned that this book might make you want to crave sweets. They were right. At the beginning of each chapter, you are taunted by delicious sounding cupcakes. That was honestly the best part about this book, IMHO. I couldn’t wait to get to the next chapter to see what cupcake would be introduced next.

Bittersweet isn’t a bad book, but it failed to hook me like Fixing Deliah and Twenty Boy Summer did. I liked the main character well enough, but I honestly couldn’t stand her name–Hudson Avery. For a good bit of the book, I was confused at which was her first name because so many people are called by their last names. Maybe it’s just a personal preference, but her name just kept throwing me off.

While I liked Hudson for the most part, she was definitely a complicated character with a lot going on. My favorite thing about Hudson was her relationship with her little brother. It was adorable. I also enjoyed her banter with some of the hockey boys, though I believe I liked her relationship with Will much better than with Josh. I just didn’t feel any chemistry whatsoever between her and Josh, but maybe it’s just me?

The plot was good, the characters overall were good, but the love triangle was honestly pretty weak. The setting was perfect. It felt so real. I liked that Hudson found solace in creating all these delicious sounding cupcakes, but I was also disappointed at the end. I also found myself getting pretty annoyed when Dani and Hudson’s mother both acted as if Hudson was always the bad guy. Who expects their teenager to pay the gas bill?

Aside from the flaws with this book, it was pretty sweet. Not sure if I’d ever re-read it again, but who knows?

 

 

3stars

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

