Book Review–The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

brvws14

 

This is the 99th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott
Published March 16th, 2010 by Simon Pulse

 

 

Everyone knows the unwritten rule: You don’t like your best friend’s boyfriend.

Sarah has had a crush on Ryan for years. He’s easy to talk to, supersmart, and totally gets her. Lately it even seems like he’s paying extra attention to her. Everything would be perfect except for two things: Ryan is Brianna’s boyfriend, and Brianna is Sarah’s best friend.

Sarah forces herself to avoid Ryan and tries to convince herself not to like him. She feels so guilty for wanting him, and the last thing she wants is to hurt her best friend. But when she’s thrown together with Ryan one night, something happens. It’s wonderful… and awful.

Sarah is torn apart by guilt, but what she feels is nothing short of addiction, and she can’t stop herself from wanting more…

 

——

 

***This review may contain slight spoilers***

The book started off really strong in the beginning, but kind of fizzled out for me about halfway. I like the characters of Sarah and Ryan. I am very against cheating but was able to understand (and feel for) Sarah’s situation. And while I was annoyed with Ryan’s inability to end things with Brianna, I could also kind of understand why he hesitated, given her situation with her parents.

While the situation was presented realistically, I did not like Brianna. While I felt awful about her parents, she was a terrible friend. While what Sarah did was wrong, Brianna was very hypocritical about judging her.

I like that the book ends with a less than happy ending–made it more real. Probably not something I’d read again, but Scott did a good job with the stereotypical “I like my best friend’s boyfriend” story.

 

 

3stars

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

