Book Review–Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

brvws14

 

This is the 100th book from my 114 in 2014 Reading Challenge. I didn’t make it to 114 this year, but I was pretty close!

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin
Published January 1st, 2005 by Square Fish

 

 

Welcome to Elsewhere. It is warm, with a breeze, and the beaches are marvelous. It’s quiet and peaceful. You can’t get sick or any older. Curious to see new paintings by Picasso? Swing by one of Elsewhere’s museums. Need to talk to someone about your problems? Stop by Marilyn Monroe’s psychiatric practice.

Elsewhere is where fifteen-year-old Liz Hall ends up, after she has died. It is a place so like Earth, yet completely different. Here Liz will age backward from the day of her death until she becomes a baby again and returns to Earth. But Liz wants to turn sixteen, not fourteen again. She wants to get her driver’s license. She wants to graduate from high school and go to college. And now that she’s dead, Liz is being forced to live a life she doesn’t want with a grandmother she has only just met. And it is not going well. How can Liz let go of the only life she has ever known and embrace a new one? Is it possible that a life lived in reverse is no different from a life lived forward?

This moving, often funny book about grief, death, and loss will stay with the reader long after the last page is turned.

 

 

——

 

Elsewhere is a book about death, but it is also a book unlike any other that I’ve read. The idea itself is intriguing but kind of depressing. I certainly hope that the afterlife is much different in real life. Still, an interesting idea. I especially liked how the animals could talk, though I have to admit the first chapter really threw me off at first.

I liked the characters well enough, though I didn’t connect to any of them as much as I would have liked. I felt like I was being held back from getting too close to them. The plot was fresh and somewhat unpredictable most of the time. Worth reading at least once.

 

 

 

3stars

 

 

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

