Book Review–Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale

brvws14

This is the 3rd book from my 115 in 2015 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale
Published February 2nd, 2012 by Simon & Schuster UK

When 17-year-old Rosie’s mother, Trudie, dies from Huntington’s Disease, Rosie’s pain is intensified by the knowledge that she has a 50 percent chance of inheriting the crippling disease herself. Only when Rosie tells her mother’s best friend, “Aunt Sarah,” that she is going to test for the disease does Sarah, a midwife, reveal that Trudie wasn’t her real mother after all. Rosie was swapped at birth with a sickly baby who was destined to die.

Devastated, Rosie decides to trace her real mother, joining her ex-boyfriend on his gap year travels, to find her birth mother in California. But all does not go as planned. As Rosie discovers yet more of her family’s deeply buried secrets and lies, she is left with an agonizing decision of her own, one which will be the most heartbreaking and far-reaching of all.

 

————-

I thought I would try a different approach to reviewing books by breaking my review down into particular sections.

Plot:

The overall plot was interesting and unpredictable–in a good way. I didn’t know much about Huntington’s until reading this and I feel the author did a great job with it. It was also very engrossing and at times very hard to put down.

Setting:

The book starts in England, but moves to New York and New England later on, then returning to England. I enjoyed all of these settings and it was a nice change to see different ones.

Characters:

I really liked Rosie’s point of view. While she is not without her flaws, she is overall a character that I came to care deeply about and who I wanted to be happy. Her boyfriend, Andy, is also pretty awesome. It was nice to see a love interest who I liked yet still had realistic flaws. I also really liked Jack Woods and Rosie’s nana.

It was really hard to tolerate Holly. I wanted to feel bad for her, and while I did hate her situation, she was so dramatic, vindictive, and immature that it made it difficult for me to feel bad for her. She finally got better near the end, but she still irked me enough that I feel the need to deduct half a star from my overall book rating.

Relationships:

I loved Rosie and Andy’s relationship. It wasn’t perfect, but realistically done in a way that kept me rooting for them. They also had a lot of cute moments. I also really liked Rosie’s relationship with Jack. And as much as she annoyed me, Holly’s relationship with her dad was also one I liked–in that her dad truly had unconditional love for her, no matter what. Same goes for Rosie and Holly’s relationship with Nana Fisher. I also liked the friendship between Andy and Holly, and the one developing between Holly and Rosie at the end held promise.

Writing/Voice:

I enjoyed the author’s writing and voice of Rosie, though I was confused at who the other POV was. They are not labeled until the end. I’m not sure if this was done on purpose, to make you wonder who the other POV was or not, but if so, the author did a great job. At first I thought the other POV was of Kitty. Once I realized I was wrong, I had to go back to re-read the few sections.

Ending:

I liked the overall ending, though the epilogue was a bit sappy. Still, I liked the idea of Nana possibly knowing the truth (or guessing it) all along.

Overall:

Overall, I really liked this one. Holly’s character kept me from enjoying it as much as I would have liked, but I would still give it 4.5 stars, recommend it, and possibly re-read it in the future.

 

 4halfstars
jncname
Leave a Comment

