Book Review–Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green & David Levithan

brvws14

 

This is the 7th book from my 115 in 2015 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green & David Levithan
Published April 6th, 2010 by Dutton Books

Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and lives intertwine.

It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chiacago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical.

 

 

————-

Plot:

The plot is certainly original. It got a little boring at times, but overall held my attention.

Setting:

The settings were all pretty easy to imagine despite the fact that I’ve never been to Chicago or Illinois, so the authors did a great job with that.

Characters:

I didn’t really love any of the characters. I’d say Jane or Gideon were probably the best. As for the main characters, I had a like/dislike relationship with the first Will Grayson. As for the second, I couldn’t stand him or his POV. I get that he has depression, but until the very end he had little redeeming qualities and I didn’t care about him or what he was going through at all.

Relationships:

Nothing all that spectacular, though I do like Will Grayson #1 and Jane. Everyone else I couldn’t care less about.

Writing/Voice:

The good thing is that the dual POVs are easy to distinguish. I could also tell which author handled what character from the writing. I liked the writing of the first Will Grayson, which would be John Green.

Unfortunately, I did not like the writing of the second Will Grayson, by David Levithan. It wasn’t too surprising considering that I didn’t care much for the POV he did in a book I read last year, Lily and Dash’s Book of Dares. Even worse, the writing is mostly in all lowercase. Even though the explanation giving in the Q&A in the back makes great sense, I wasn’t able to not be aware of it. Maybe it’s the writer in me.

And as far as the writing being considered “funny”, I guess I just didn’t get it. I can’t remember single part of the book that made me laugh.

Though the thing that bothered me the most was the constant size description of Tiny. Yes, I GET that Tiny is a very large guy after the first few chapters. Yet it seemed to be shoved in my face again and again, as if I would somehow get amnesia and forget? Also, I really didn’t appreciate some of the fat shaming, such as lines like this: i think he’s all sweaty, because, let’s face it, most fat people get sweaty just from lifting the twinkie to their mouth, but tiny is too fabulous to sweat.

Maybe lines like that were supposed to be funny, but they didn’t seem funny to me. Especially when there are more from where that came from.

Ending:

Honestly, at this point, I was just glad it was over. Didn’t really wow me or leave me with any lasting thoughts, though.

Overall:

I wanted to like this. Really, I did. But there were just too many things that kept me from liking it, which has all been explained. I felt the book and story had potential, but it just fell really short for me.

 

 

2stars

 

jncname
Leave a Comment

