Book Review–Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver

brvws14

 

This is the 13th book from my 115 in 2015 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver
Published March 5th, 2013 by HarperCollins

 

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels.

As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena and Hana’s points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

 

 

————-

 Plot:

Plot-wise, this felt similar to the one in the second book, only with more action in the Wilds. The book is told from Lena and Hana’s POVs, which was interesting, but in a way I am wondering if Hana’s was necessary at all. I guess it helped give readers a conclusion of sorts for her, as well to see how people like her were coping, but otherwise I would have rather just had Lena’s POV all the way through.

Setting:

Similar setting to the last book, and also one from the first. For the most part everything was easy to picture until the real action packed scenes near the last third of the book, but not sure if it is on the author’s end or mine, since I have trouble with scenes that involve a lot of action.

Characters:

Lena has definitely changed over the course of the three books, and in a good way. She went from being an incredibly naive, kind of emotionless person to an independent one who deals with things better.

Hana kind of went in the opposite direction. I liked her okay in the first book, and was truly shocked at what she did to Lena and Alex in the short story. I did feel bad for her upcoming marriage to the monster mayor’s son, but she was so emotionless at the end that I was ready to be done with her.

It seemed like the rest of the cast was just there, which was kind of disappointing considering I really liked Julian and Alex in the other books. In this one, it was hard to remember why exactly.

I did like the twist with Lu–I never expected a thing.

Relationships:

Each of the past two books featured a different romantic interest, and for once I actually liked both of them. However, in this book, both relationships are strained. By the end of the book, I wasn’t quite sure if I liked one better over the other–though I give Alex props for his note.

The only other relationships worth mentioning other than those is the budding one between Lena and her mother. I felt it was well done, considering all that had happened. Same with Hana and Lena.

Writing/Voice:

As usual, Oliver’s writing is beautiful and easy to get lost in. The different POVs kind of disrupted the writing and at times, the story, though.

Ending:

I’m mixed on how I feel about the ending. On one hand, there’s a lot of unresolved issues. What happened to Fred? Tack? Hana? Did the resistance fully succeed? I’m okay with Lena’s decision concerning her love triangle. Overall, I like that the ending seems to at least wrap up with the importance of freedom. I wouldn’t have minded an epilogue, though. I want to know how things end for Lena and the people she cares about.

Overall:

It didn’t blow me away, but wasn’t a bad conclusion for the series.

 

3halfstars

 

jncname
Leave a Comment

