Book Review–Stalker Girl by Rosemary Graham

brvws14

 

This is the 16th book from my 115 in 2015 Reading Challenge.

 

Picture Source: Goodreads.com
Picture Source: Goodreads.com

Stalker Girl by Rosemary Graham
Published August 5th, 2010 by Viking Juvenile

 

Carly never meant to become a stalker. She just wanted to find out who Brian started dating after he dumped her. But a little harmless online research turns into a quick glance, and that turns into an afternoon of watching. Soon Carly is putting all of her energy into following Brian’s new girlfriend–all of the sadness she feels about her mom’s recent breakup, all of the anger she feels over being pushed aside by her dad while he prepares for his new wife/s new baby. When Carly’s stalking is discovered in the worst possible way by the worst possible person, she is forced to acknowledge her problem and the underlying issues that led to it.

 

 

————-

Plot:

A plot I haven’t really seen in YA before, especially from a girl protagonist. There were a few times in which I was confused, but overall it worked. It went from the present to the past, then slowly moved back to the present, then back to more of the past. I wasn’t expecting any of it though, so it was a nice surprise. I tended to like the beginning and middle of the book better than the last part. It was harder to sympathize with Carly as the plot got more crazy.

Setting:

The setting was very easy to picture, even though I have never been to New York. The camp was also easy to imagine. It felt very realistic and I grew to love seeing New York from Carly’s eyes.

Characters:

Carly was an easy character to like and sympathize with for a while. I know what it’s like to have your heart broken and to be ignored. I also know what it’s like to have a broken family. And I can see how all of these events contributed to her crazy, compulsive behavior. It got a little harder feeling sorry for her as she went off the deep end, but I still cared about what happened to her in the end.

Though I wanted to hate the love interest for breaking Carly’s heart, it was hard for the most part because he was very likable. I could also see why he would fall for his new girlfriend, who seemed like a really nice person.

I also liked Jess and Nick. I didn’t care as much for Carly’s parents, who felt a bit aloof, but they seemed to have their own worlds they were involved in.

I found Val to be kind of annoying and didn’t really understand why she was Carly’s best friend at times. The relationship purging was a good idea, but I could also see why Carly wouldn’t be so open with her.

Relationships:

The relationships were really well done for the most part. Especially in the case of Carly and Brian. Their relationship was believable and also made Carly’s inability to let go more understandable than if we hadn’t been shown it. It made me sad that things didn’t work out for Carly and Brian until Carly began to get a little too obsessive over his fame and exposure to other people.

I also really liked her relationship with Jess and Nick. Her relationship with her parents seemed to be more strained, though I don’t blame her in her mother’s case.

Writing/Voice:

The only thing I disliked was when the author would sometimes talk directly to the reader. Other than that, I enjoyed it a lot and easily got swept up into the beginning and especially the middle. The last part was harder. It felt kind of stiff.

Ending:

I didn’t like how the details of Carly’s “punishment” got glossed over. They almost felt like an afterthought. I did like how Carly seemed to be moving in a new direction, though.

Overall:

Very riveting read with deep emotions and relationships. Also shows how easily things can get out of hand and how stalking is not okay. I could see myself reading it again in the future.

 

 

3halfstars

 

 

jncname
Leave a Comment

