NaNoWriMo Week 4

We’re on the final day for NaNoWriMo. I finished at 50,967 on November 29th. While I wasn’t too worried about finishing, the thought of not being able to did cross my mind since I didn’t get much writing done before or during the Thanksgiving holiday. I managed to knock it out within the next two days, though, and had a blast doing so.

I’m estimating that it really only took me about 20 days to actually write Evil in the Walls since I missed 8-10 days. It really was one of the easiest novels to write so far. I’m really looking forward to the edits next year. This book has been a real adventure since I only had a few scenes and ideas planned. I’m thinking I might need to do that more often.

I also thought I might struggle breaking from my usual 1st person POV but I really didn’t. Writing in 3rd was just as easy and was definitely needed for this book. We’ll see if it helps my writing any when I pitch it for Twitter contests and querying after the editing phase. One of the most fun things about NaNoWriMo this year was the people I participated in Word Wars with. All former inkies and current insomniacs. It’s something I definitely need to do more often. Warring for fifteen minutes was especially helpful and I loved seeing a glimpse of what everyone else was writing.

For now, I’m taking a little writing break but I may talk myself into a Christmas themed short story or get back to editing/re-writing Creeper.

How is your NaNoWriMo going? Have you finished? What was your total word count? Are you happy with your work?

 

10999519_10155453815140195_6572941395180458805_n

 

Until January, Evil in the Walls!

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

