Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag

dashingthroughthesnow2

I was tagged to do the Dashing Through the Snow book tag by one of my favorite book bloggers, Ari from The Quirky Book Nerd! While I have plans to turn more toward a professional site and away from blogging, I’m thinking these might be fun to do once in a while. Please take a moment to go check out The Quirky Book Nerd. Thanks!

The Rules:

 

 

1. Name a book you would like to see under your Christmas tree.

Just one? Well that’s hard, but considering I just bought I ton of books, maybe not too bad. Though I could probably receive an entire bookshelf of books and still want/buy more not too long after. I’m a book hoarder for sure.

One I am really drooling over is definitely the new Stephen King short story collection, The Bazaar of Bad Dreams. I never finished his last short story collection but this one looks really good. That cover ❤

 

I’ve also been hinting that I want the leatherbound Barnes and Noble collection of Ray Bradbury stories. I’ve only read Fahrenheit 451 but I loved it so much that I can’t wait to read more of his work.


Source: monsterkidclassichorrorforum.yuku.com
Source: monsterkidclassichorrorforum.yuku.com

 

If we’re talking about YA, it would probably be Isla and the Happily Ever After. Maybe Red Queen as a close second.

Source: disabilityinkidlit.com
Source: disabilityinkidlit.com

 

Source: victoriaaveyard.com
Source: victoriaaveyard.com

And I’d absolutely die if I got JAWS: Memories from Martha’s Vineyard. I am a huge Jaws and shark fanatic and I have been lusting over this book for forever. It’s pricey, though!

 

Source: erikhollanderdesign.com
Source: erikhollanderdesign.com

2. A book you’ll be reading during the Christmas season.

Well I just finished Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards. It mainly occurred during winter. It was just okay, though. I just started Let It Snow, which contains three holiday stories by young adult authors. So far I am loving the first story by Maureen Johnson. I’ll probably get to at least one more book before Christmas, maybe another if I’m lucky.

Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Amazon.com
Source: Amazon.com
My original plan was to read My True Love Gave to Me, which features twelve holiday stories by young adult authors but it got put on back order (I was very disappointed!). And I’d already spent my Barnes and Noble gift card. Maybe next year?

3. Favorite Christmas movie.

I have a lot of beloved Christmas movies, but my absolute favorite would be The Holiday. It’s one of those movies I can watch year round but especially gives me fuzzies during the Christmas season. It’s one of those movies that can cheer me up when I’m down. I just love it.

 

Source: cinema.com
Source: cinema.com

The plot, the beautiful music (Oh Hans Zimmer, this is your best!), the actors. The chemistry is awesome and I like all of the couples, especially the adorable Jack Black/Kate Winslet one. Though the part that always tears me up involves Arthur, who is probably my favorite character in it all. He’s just so sweet and his entire situation makes me sad.

 

Source: forgottenpopcorn.blogspot.com
Source: forgottenpopcorn.blogspot.com

It’s a story of love. Not just romantic love, but friends and families, too. Of meeting strangers and caring for others. It’s just wonderful. Go watch it now!

4. Do you like snow?

As long as I am off work and don’t have to drive in it, YES! It’s a Southern thing. We can’t drive in the snow. My car almost got stuck last time because I have to go up hills to get home.

 

But I love it when I can enjoy it. It’s beautiful and I take a million pictures while playing out in it. Last time we got a good one, I played in it all day and loved watching it melt. I was pretty much the only person to go out in it, too, so I got some great photos.
Going down the slide in the snow.
Going down the slide in the snow.
I’m a big kid at heart so I make snowballs, collapse onto the ground to make angels, create snowmen (or animals, last time I made a snowcat!), run around the playground, catch flakes on my tongue, make snow cream, and slide down the hill. Last year our new puppy seemed to love it, too.
My snowcat.
My snowcat.

Then there’s the fun of going inside to warm up with coffee or hot chocolate, taking baths, and delving into some good books. I also like to marathon movies and shows in between all the snow fun! We probably won’t be getting any until February. Right now it’s in the 60s-70s–in December. I know! A very warm and strange winter!

5. Name a character you would like to spend your Christmas day with.

I’ve actually always thought it would be fun to spend Christmas at Hogwarts with the trio–Harry, Hermione, and Ron. But if I can only choose one, I guess it would be Hermione. I actually enjoy learning.

 

Source: rebloggy.com
Source: rebloggy.com
Though I wouldn’t turn down a Bilbo Baggins party at the Shire or a visit with Jareth the Goblin King.

6. To give or to receive?

While I definitely enjoy receiving presents, I do believe I have more fun giving. I Christmas shop year-round. If I see something I know a family member or friend will love, I’ll go ahead and get it if I can. Definitely helps once December arrives and speeds by. I love figuring out what other people will enjoy and seeing their reactions to what they’re given. I like to think that I do a good job guessing, too.

 

7. What fictional place would you like to spend Christmas at?

Pretty much question #5–Hogwarts. I’ve just always been kind of mesmerized by both the books and movies when it comes to holidays at Hogwarts, especially Halloween and Christmas. It just feels like somewhere that would be magical, warm, and like a home should be.

 

source: weheartit.com
source: weheartit.com

 

8. Fondest Christmas memory?

One of my fondest memories is a Christmas where my younger half-sister got one of the Harry Potter games for her Playstation. I’m pretty sure it was Chamber of Secrets because I remember the slug part. We beat it within a day. I used to watch and help my sister with games a lot growing up and I kind of miss it now. I will always have fond memories of that game. It was super fun–except the slug part, that was gross and annoying to beat. It is a great feeling when you finally get past a part like that in a game, though.

 

Source: www.gamefaqs.com
Source: http://www.gamefaqs.com

9. Can you say Christmas tree three times FAST in a row (pronouncing it correctly!)?

I grew up with a speech problem but yes, that actually wasn’t too bad and I could do it. 🙂

 

I Tag:

 

Mariella @ mariellahunt.com

Whoever else wants to 🙂

P.S. Apologies for the formatting. I can’t seem to fix it.

 

jncname

2 thoughts on “Dashing Through the Snow Book Tag

  1. Yay! I absolutely loved reading all of your answers! Thank you so much for doing this ❤

    Oh man, I really want to read The Bazaar of Bad Dreams! I've bought a copy of this for my dad for Christmas, but I'm totally going to borrow it. Haha 😀 Those leather bound Barnes and Noble editions are so beautiful aren't they? I definitely want to add that Bradbury one to my collection at some point.

    Your snow cat is fantastic! I love that both of our answers for #5 are people who are from our answers to #7. Very convenient for our fictional holiday vacation plans 🙂 That is such a lovely Christmas memory. I don't have any siblings but I have always been extremely close to my two older cousins, and I have so many great memories of playing video games with them over the years. And The Chamber of Secrets is definitely the best Harry Potter game too!

    1. Ah, perks of having another reader in the family! Sadly my husband mainly likes hardcore Sci-Fi and Fantasy (I just like to dabble a bit), but I do like that I can borrow some of his “classics.”

      The Bradbury one is very hard to find! :/ So if you see it at a good price, you better grab it. Our store stopped carrying it.

      Thanks! Yes, video games tend to be some of my best memories, too. Not just with my sister but also with my babysitter’s kids. Good times!

      And thanks for tagging me. I plan to be more active in blogging. I’ve missed it!

Leave a Comment

