Favorite Books of 2015

2015 is over! To wrap up my book pic project, I decided to choose my favorite reads of the year by month. Apologies in advance–I totally spazzed and forgot to get the book for October. I was trying so hard to decide on which book to pick for February (Time Between Us or When You Were Mine) that I guess it slipped my mind to double-check the books. Oh well. The pictures are done and the books are put up so I’m not going to worry about it. You live and you learn, right?

This was a very challenging project. It was fun at times but it could also be frustrating to get the lighting and pose right. Most of the trouble came from fitting both me and the books into a picture because I took the pictures with my fancy Sony camera with a timer and no view of what the pics would look like. So sometimes my plans didn’t work out. I ended up using my camera phone for some of the self portraits–can you tell which?

 

I decided to take my favorite self-portraits and compile them into a collage. What do you think?

PicMonkey Collage

 

My Favorite Reads of 2015


Jan–Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale
Feb–The Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone
March–The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
April–Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski
May–White Oleander by Janet Fitch
June–The Corner of Sweet and Bitter by Robin Palmer
July–The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han
August–The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
September–Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King
October–The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin
November–Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
December–Let It Snow by Maureen Johnson, John Green, & Lauren Myracle

 

My top three reads for the year, in no particular order, are: White Oleander by Janet Fitch, Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King, and Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

While I did not meet my goal of reading 115 books, I did manage to read 85. Which considering how busy 2015 was is a bit of a miracle to me. So 74% of my overall goal isn’t bad! According to Goodreads, I read: 85 books and 23,735 pages. Not bad!

 

1000640_10156491053845195_7883518308735056376_n

 

 

I haven’t decided how I will do next year’s book pictures, but I definitely do want to keep doing them. I’m just not sure if I want to do them the same way or change things up. While having the self-portraits and “themes” were neat, it also was a hassle at times. Weather, schedule, just not feeling up to it, difficulties getting good pictures (everything in frame, lighting, etc). I am toying around with the idea of doing color schemes, though. All in all, I’m glad I started this project despite the difficulties.

3731_10156491056345195_4648691104423222123_n

 

What where your favorite reads of 2015? Hope you have enjoyed this photography book project!

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

