12 Classics I Plan to Read This Year

One of my reading goals for 2016 is to read a classic each month. After getting some opinions and looking over my TBR list, here are the 12 I have decided to go with:

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

1. The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

 

Source: www.bookaddictsguide.com
Source: http://www.bookaddictsguide.com

2. The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Source: Amazon.com
Source: Amazon.com

3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

4. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

 

Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Goodreads.com

5. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson*

 

Amazon.com
Amazon.com

6. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

 

Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Goodreads.com

7. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Source: Amazon.com
Source: Amazon.com
Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Goodreads.com

8. The Martian Chronicles OR Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Goodreads.com

9. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Source: Amazon.com
Source: Amazon.com

10. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Goodreads.com

11. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens *

Source: Goodreads.com
Source: Goodreads.com

12. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

*While I have read #5 and #11 before when I was much younger, I don’t recall either well. I remember reading #11 in 5th grade and my classmates being impressed with the thickness of it (and that I was actually reading it). I remember we did a play version of it in my middle school drama class and I loved my part as Fagin. I even won an award for it.

I have #10 and #11 in neat little red hardback classic editions that I found at Ollie’s Discount Outlet.

If I have time, I might also re-read The Witches by Roald Dahl just for fun and maybe read the Bradbury book I didn’t get to. I loved Fahrenheit 451 so I am hoping I will love some of his others.

 

Are any classics on your reading list this year? If so, which ones are you going to attempt?

 

 

jncname

2 thoughts on “12 Classics I Plan to Read This Year

  1. I still need to read The Martian Chronicles (it’s one of my dad’s favorites), but I can definitely vouch for Something Wicked This Way Comes. It’s one of my all-time favorite classics! 🙂

    1. Going to squeeze that one into September. Doing shades of blue for my birthday month & the library copy is teal and that is also PCOS awareness so seems like a good fit. Also might be a nice pre-Halloween read?

Leave a Comment

