Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

This is a tag that started on YouTube that I really like (original video here) but since I am a unreliable blogger, I don’t get tagged much. So I thought I would nominate myself because I really like unpopular opinions!

Disclaimer: These unpopular opinions are my own. Please don’t be offended by anything I say–it’s just how I feel.

Source:  Source: malialitman.com
Source:
Source: malialitman.com

MY UNPOPULAR BOOK OPINIONS

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like:

Book: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.
I just couldn’t get into it, didn’t like any of the characters, and while the twist was horrific, I just didn’t like this book overall.

Also, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

I found the first half so boring and tedious that I couldn’t finish the rest. I’m going to try again one day but I have the feeling that Austen may not be for me. I always feel bad for not liking it because I know so many people who love it. :/

Series: The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

I’ve read the first book (City of Bones) almost twice; the first time I didn’t finish because it took too long to read and I had to return it to the library. Second time around, I just found it to be “meh.” I liked some of the characters and storyline but just didn’t see why it was so hyped up and have no urge to read any more.

Source:  Source: novelheartbeat.com
Source:
Source: novelheartbeat.com

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love:

Book: To Be Perfectly Honest by Sonya Sones.
OK, maybe people don’t hate this book, but most of my reading buddies don’t have it highly rated. I thought it was really good, though. My favorite of hers so far.

Series: Eve series by Anna Carey.

This one has mixed reviews and while I do get a lot of the negative points, I still really enjoyed this one, though it could have wrapped up better..

Source:  Source: memesvault.com
Source:
Source: memesvault.com

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP (One True Pairing) that you don’t like:

SPOILER HUNGER GAMES TRILOGY SPOILER SPOILER
.
.
.
.
.

.

Source: Source: www.loveisnotatriangle.com
Source: Source: http://www.loveisnotatriangle.com

The Hunger Games—Peeta and Katniss
While I like both Katniss and Peeta and liked them together in the beginning, I feel Katniss needed to be alone in the end. She’d been through so much and having her end up with someone at the end just made the ending even more depressing and kind of weak. I’ve seen a few others express the same and I am so glad I’m not alone.

Also, SPOILER HARRY POTTER SPOILER SPOILER
.
.
.

.

.

Harry Potter: Harry & Ginny.
I wasn’t a fan of Harry and Ginny. Sorry. I’ve felt this way since the last book, and especially in the movies. Again, it is nice to see that I’m not alone in this. I just felt they had no chemistry, no relationship building, and it’s a little weird that they just kind of end up looking like Harry’s parents. I honestly think Harry and Luna could have made for an interesting couple.

Source: Source: unleashyouralpha.com
Source: Source: unleashyouralpha.com

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for:

Science Fiction or Historical Fiction. While I have enjoyed books from both of these genres, I’m usually hesitant at reaching for them unless they are highly recommended or they catch my interest.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

5. A popular or beloved character that you don’t like:

Male: Four (Tobias) from Divergent.

I’ve only read the first book, but I just don’t get why everyone fawns over him.

Female: Princess Mia from The Princess Diaries.
I know, I know, I loved these books when I was younger but when I tried to re-read them a few years back she just rubbed me the wrong way.

Source: Source: imgflip.com
Source: Source: imgflip.com

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into:

David Leviathan, Peter Straub, and probably Jane Austen (we’ll see).

I feel so bad about Straub because he is considered a big horror author, recommended by Stephen King, and I also saw him when I met R.L. Stine. I love the idea of his stories but the two books I read (Ghost Story, which I couldn’t finish, and Lost Boy, Lost Girl) I just found both boring and couldn’t get into the writing or characters at all. I might give him one more chance but I’m not holding out too much faith that I will become a fan.

Source: Source: i2.wp.com
Source: Source: i2.wp.com

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.):

Badly done love triangles, forced romance/pairings, special snowflakes. Also I think dystopians have been done to death now so let’s move on.

Source: Source: cdn2.lastresistance.com
Source: Source: cdn2.lastresistance.com

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading:

Trylle (Switched, Amanda Hocking), Private series by Kate Brian, House of Night by P.C. & Kristen Cast, Fallen by Lauren Kate.

I’ve read the first book of all of the above and hated/didn’t like any of them. I have too many books to read to waste my time on a series I am probably not going to like.

I’m still torn on whether I want to continue the Shatter Me series. The first book was good but so hard to get into due to the purple prose writing.

Source: Source: cdn.meme.am/
Source: Source: cdn.meme.am/

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?:

There are actually a lot of movies/shows I like better so I don’t totally agree with this sentiment. Here are a few:

Jaws, Jurassic Park, Catching Fire, most shows the CW/ABC develop (Vampire Diaries, Gossip Girl, Secret Circle, The 100, Pretty Little Liars), A Walk to Remember, Let the Right One In, Dexter, Roswell, etc.

Source: Source: movie-memories.net
Source: Source: movie-memories.net

So there are my unpopular opinions.

I tag anyone who wants to participate. Link to me and leave me a link to your post here in the comments so I can see your unpopular opinions! Do you agree or disagree with mine?

If you don’t have a blog, Youtube, or anything like that and want to participate, you can do yours right in the comments.

Source:  Source: limpinlarrys.com
Source:
Source: limpinlarrys.com

 

 

jncname

Leave a Comment

