Reading Goals 2016 Check: Series & Classics

At the beginning of the year, I made some reading goals for myself. Since we’re almost through the middle of the year, I thought it would be interesting to see how those goals are going.

 

6 Series in 2016

Below are 6 series that I wanted to attempt to finish in 2016. Here’s how I’m doing with them:

Source: harpercollins.com
Source: harpercollins.com

1. Divergent series by Veronica Roth

I read Divergent a while back (twice), Insurgent in March, just finished Allegiant today. I may also read Four, though it will depend on if my library carries it and if I have time. I still consider the original trilogy to be the complete series, though–short stories just seem like an extra. So I feel that I can check this one off my list.

Source: cinderfaith.blogspot.com
Source: cinderfaith.blogspot.com

2. The Selection series by Kiera Cass

I’ve re-read The Selection this year, plan to read The Elite this month, and The One later on this year. I probably won’t read the short story collection, The Heir, or The Crown until next year, though. So that will probably be halfway complete.

Source: bittenbythefantasybug.wordpress.com
Source: bittenbythefantasybug.wordpress.com

3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I re-read Cinder in February and am about to begin Scarlet. I plan to read Cress, Fairest, and Winter later on this year. I probably won’t have time for Stars Above, but since it’s a short story collection, I consider it an extra and will probably get to it next year.

 

Source: bookarrows.wordpress.com
Source: bookarrows.wordpress.com

4. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

I haven’t started this trilogy yet but I plan to try and read them this Fall.

 

Source: ebay
Source: ebay

5. Dexter series by Jeff Lindsay

I read the first four over the last couple of years and read the fifth one last month. I plan to read the next three before the end of the year.

Source: www.liljas-library.com
Source: http://www.liljas-library.com

6. Bill Hodges trilogy by Stephen King

I read Mr. Mercedes last year, Finders Keepers in February, and End of Watch last week. Another series down! Hoorah!

I’ll probably have a few more series completed this year just because I got into the mood to read them. I’ve already finished The Fifth Wave and the Burn for Burn trilogy this year because I had to find out what happened after the first book.

So I’ve completed two series out of the six I planned and have read two I didn’t plan on reading.

 

I also challenged myself to read a classic book each month. So far I have done that and I haven’t found any I didn’t like yet. Here’s my list:
1. The Princess Bride by William Goldman
2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
3. The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien
4. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Frank L. Baum
5. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
6. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
7. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury
8. Lord of the Flies by William Golding
9. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
10. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
11. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
12. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

Halfway there! So far my top three are: Jane Eyre, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, and The Fellowship of the Ring.

 

My next update post will feature the rest of the books I hope to get to this year as well as my numeric reading goal. Have you made any reading goals this year? If so, how are you doing with them? Best of luck!

 

jnc

Leave a Comment

