NaNoWriMo 2016

Hey guys! It’s that time again! I do plan to do my Goals and Book Picture posts, but I will probably not do any other posting except for my weekly progress with NaNoWrimo. If you’d like to add me as a writing buddy, please do! We can cheer each other on.

http://nanowrimo.org/participants/j-n-cahill/novels/not-my-fault-1122164

Here’s my project for this year. It’s a very personal subject for me.

nmf

Genre: Young-Adult Contemporary.

For as long as she can remember, Sierra Jacobs has always lived a sheltered life and is used to taking the blame for everything that happens in her family. When she is forced to team up with classmates in psychology class for a project, she begins to learn about NPD–Narcissistic Personality Disorder. When what she learns begins to seep into her home life, she starts to realize that maybe everything that happens there isn’t always her fault after all.

 

I’ve been doing NaNo since 2011 and I love it. It never fails to pump me up and after this year, I could really use some writing motivation. I have some character sketches done as well as a general plot–though a lot of it is still undecided at the moment. Hopefully more will come to me as I begin writing.

Are you doing NaNoWriMo? If so, what are you going to write about? And are you ready?

jnc

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. Your book project seems so interesting! I don’t know much about NPD, but I am intrigued by how it could affect someone’s daily life. I also think that NPD is not something that is talked about much in literature so I think that the concept is really cool! I am also joining in on Nanowrimo this year. I am writing a book called Dark Amnesia. It falls under a weird mixture of genres and I have a basic idea of the premise, but I don’t have anything really fleshed out. I am excited to see what tomorrow brings!

    1. Thank you! It was very difficult starting out as I am still coming to terms with it but I agree that it is something not talked about much in books, though PBS did a post this year about it on Mother’s Day so there seems to be some recognition. I hear the book Mommie Dearest is a good one about NPD as Joan Crawford’s daughter writes about her mother having it. I’ve only seen the movie but it was pretty spot on!

      That’s a very cool title and the idea of mixing different genres seems neat. Hope things are beginning to make more sense now and happy writing!

Leave a Comment

