Harry Potter Re-Read 2017

harry-potter-audiobooks

I became a fan of Harry Potter when I was in middle school. I believe my dad gave me the first book and after that, I was hooked. Waiting for the next book to come out was torture. I was excited beyond belief when they started adapting the books into movies.

One of my fondest book memories is reading The Goblet of Fire in the car on the way to the beach. I lived too far from the city to attend any of the book events and seemed to be one of the few fans at my school. I was sad when the final book came out, though happy once I was able to participate in the Harry Potter fandom. Mostly I read and wrote stories on fanfiction.net. I also read most of the first three books aloud to my younger sister.

I’ve taken multiple House quizzes, including a few on Pottermore. While I have gotten almost all of the houses at one point or another, Ravenclaw was the one I got a result for more than once and also the House that I feel is mine deep down.

pm_house_pages_400_x_400_px_final_crest

I haven’t read the books since I was in college, which was about ten years ago (!). I have gotten to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando twice, which is a really cool experience. If not for the crowds, I would truly feel like I’d stepped into J.K. Rowling’s books.

Last year I believe I was watching a Booktube video in which the person was reading Harry Potter for their first time and a sudden pang filled me. I realized how much I missed that world. From that moment I decided that in 2017, I would re-read the books. I’m curious to see if I will love them as much as I did growing up.

785240

I’ve also decided to read other related HP books along with this re-read, such as the Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them handbook and screenplay, Quidditch Through the Ages, The Tales of Beetle and the Bard, and Harry, A History. I also hope to read some of the stories JKR has written on Pottermore, though I wish they would be bound up into a book—maybe one day they will.

I got a Harry Potter cookbook for Christmas and will be attempting to fix one or two recipes each month, maybe while my husband and I re-watch the movies. I want to attempt a Harry Potter themed book each month, then watch the movies after. Hopefully served with my HP recipe(s) and snacks (I’ve been saving a chocolate frog for the first movie viewing).

My awesome in-laws got me some Harry Potter items for Christmas!
My awesome in-laws got me some Harry Potter items for Christmas!

My husband also ordered me a special version of the first illustrated edition for Christmas but as he told me, “it seems to be shipping via the Mayflower.” I was really hoping to start with that book (I already have the second illustrated version) but I have decided that if it has not arrived in the next few days that I will read the Fantastic Beasts screenplay that I got for Christmas instead. We’ll see.

Also a Christmas present from the in-laws. The movie was
Also a Christmas present from the in-laws. The movie was “fantastic”!

I also got a Harry Potter notebook, which I have decided to make into a themed bullet journal. It will be perfect for recording my thoughts as I re-read the series, as well as read the additional themed books. I got a few coloring books as well so I will probably color those. I feel immersing myself into Harry Potter will be a perfect escape as well, something I may really need to do.

Have I mentioned that my in-laws are way too good to me?
Have I mentioned that my in-laws are way too good to me?

Here’s to a very magical 2017! Do you enjoy the Harry Potter series? What house are you in? And when did you last read the series?

jnc

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Re-Read 2017

    1. Nah, there are people just now reading it. You’ll finish them eventually and sharing them with someone else is always worth it. I read the first three out loud to my sister and those definitely took a while and the books get bigger. Everyone has their own pace and as long as you’re enjoying it, that’s all that matters.

Leave a Comment

