The Book VS the Movie: Beastly

34791_m1292130255

Book written by Alex Flinn, 2007
Movie directed by Daniel Barnz, 2011

Synopsis from Goodreads.com:

I am a beast. A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog, but a horrible new creature who walks upright – a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.

You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever – ruined – unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and a perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly beastly.

beastly

VS

beastly_new_n

Which I Viewed First: The book.

Which I Enjoyed Most: The book.

Out of 5 stars, the Book Gets: 3.5 stars.

Out of 5 stars, the Movie Gets: 2.5 stars.

Things the Book Did Better: Characters were better and the story was deeper. The romance was better than the movie.

Things the Movie Did Better:  Neil Patrick Harris.

Verdict?: Book.

Should the movie be re-made?: Maybe if it followed the book more closely and had a better main cast. I liked Neil Patrick Harris though. He sold it.

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Would love to hear your thoughts!

 

See more Book VS Movie posts HERE.

jnc

Leave a Comment

