Books in January 2017

For 2017, I have challenged myself to read 80 books. In January, I read seven.

 

dsc02806
New Favorite: FrostBlood by Elly Blake

Least Liked: 5th One Piece (For Whom the Bells Toll) by Eiichirō Oda

Classic: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Old Favorites (Re-Reads): Heaven by V.C. Andrews, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling.

I loved Harry Potter as much as I always have and reading the new illustrated version was a wonderful way to re-read the book.

I also loved Red Queen. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up was inspiring. The 5th OnePiece manga was decent, but far from my favorite. Overall, I had a great reading month!

Also, if you recognize this background, that’s because you saw it in my book pictures last January–only there was snow then. I decided to revisit this place (the inside of a large bush at my apartment complex of all places) because I think it’s a beautiful backdrop.

 

 

dsc02812

 

dsc02916

 

My “new” favorite read for January 2017. This happened to be a review book, too.

dsc02898

My classic read for the month.

dsc02856

This year I decided to re-read the Harry Potter series. My husband got me this beautiful special illustrated edition of the Philosopher’s Stone to begin. The illustrations are wonderful!

dsc02998

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo has been a huge inspiration to me de-cluttering my life. So far I am more than halfway through my apartment and parting with clutter as well as re-organizing my life has helped so much. Being surrounded only by things I love, need, and use is so much better than hanging onto things I didn’t truly love. Highly recommend if you are looking for a positive change in your life.

dsc03056

I also decided that I would re-read the Casteel series by V.C. Andrews as well as her original stand-alone, My Sweet Audrina, and the new sequel to MSA. Since VCA died in 1986, only a few books under her name were actually written by her. Heaven was one of the ones she did and I somehow loved it even more now than I did when I first read it at 14 or 15.

Heaven Leigh Casteel will always be one of my favorite fictional characters of all time and while this series is tragic, I am also always there to root for her and her dreams. If you want a book that will touch you, disgust you by the cruelty of the world, and make you want the main character to succeed no matter what, I highly recommend this one. I will be reading the next one in Feburary!

So what did you read in January and what were your favorites? How many books are you tackling for 2017?

jnc

Leave a Comment

