January Book Haul

One of my goals for 2017 is to try and buy/receive less books or at least get more that I’m actually going to read this year. I don’t think I’ve done too bad for January since some of these really are books I plan to read for 2017. Trying to do a total book buying ban has proven to backfire so I’m going to try and just aim overall for less. Anyway, here’s the books I couldn’t resist!

img_20170128_095859

First of all, here is the beautiful special illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling and Jim McKay, a Christmas gift from my husband. However, it shipped from England and took over a month to arrive but it was definitely worth it. I’m sad it won’t fit on my current Harry Potter shelf though. This is the nicest book I own now. Pictures don’t do it justice.

dsc02856

img_20170209_103308

These were in my library’s outlet section. The hardbacks were $2 and the other were $1. While I already owned Rose Madder and Needful Things (that edition is missing the dust jacket but the spine is beautiful so I grabbed), they were ratty paperbacks. I decided these hardcovers were in great condition so I replaced them. I also got The Legend of the Indian Paintbrush, a children’s book I remember loving, and Meg, a book I plan to read later this year.

img_20170209_103505

I can usually never resist Book Outlet. They were having some kind of winter sale and they had the last two Jasper Dent books for a bargain. Since I want to finish this series this year and my library only has the first one, of course I snagged them.

They also had the Puffin Bloom Classic edition for Anne of Green Gables, which I’ve never read but since I already have the edition for Little Women, I snagged it too. This set is expensive but Book Outlet occasionally has the singles for $6-7.

My library also doesn’t have Stars Above by Marissa Meyer, though they have the rest of her books for The Lunar Chronicles so I decided to get it. It was decently priced and I plan to eventually buy the series when we have a house with more space.

img_20170209_103628

I found Burial Rites at Dollar Tree. I’ve heard of this one and it sounded good so I couldn’t pass it up for a dollar. Most of the time Dollar Tree’s book selection is depressing but every once in a while they will have some good ones so always check!

img_20170209_104121

I signed up for my first Owl Crate because they were doing a classic re-mix and the last box, which I saw someone reveal on Booktube, looked excellent so I decided to try it. It is more expensive than my Horror Block but I’m thinking I might do Owl Crate when I’m not interested in the other. Like for February 🙂 The box came with this Phantom of the Opera re-telling and a signed bookplate. While I’ve never read the classic, it has always sounded good and I am excited to read this!

img_20170209_104455

And here’s the contents of the box itself since it is book related. I loved everything in this box (though I haven’t tried the tea yet, it sounds good). It came with the hardback of Roseblood by A.G. Howard, a letter from the author about the book, a signed bookplate, a Phantom of the Opera magnet (the purple thing, it’s gorgeous), book soap inspired by The Secret Garden (so cute it’s going to be hard to use it), a pretty watercolor bookmark with a quote from Slaughterhouse-Five, Little Prince inspired herbal tea, a 2017 calendar with classic book quotes and art, and an Owlcrate pin (currently on my purse). Very cool stuff.

I signed up for Feb box as well in place of my Horror Block since the theme is circus and the HB theme wasn’t wowing me. While I’m pretty sure the book is going to be one I already have, I’m okay with it because my edition is a review ARC and the new one (if I’m correct) will be hardcover and have a signed bookplate and letter from the author.

Honestly I don’t think I was too bad for January. One book was a gift, one came with neat bookish stuff, and the rest were fairly cheap. Out of the eleven I acquired, I’ve read one, plan to read five-six of them this year, and replaced two for books I already had. So really only two were complete impulse buys. I feel good about my haul.

I also unhauled about 30-40 from my shelf. All books I’d liked (like the Pretty Little Liars books) but also ones I knew I’d never re-read. I gave some to my co-worker for her younger daughter and plan to take the rest to my local used bookstore. Whichever ones they can’t take will be donated. So not bad at all. Right? How many books did you get this month and which ones are you most excited about?

jnc

Leave a Comment

