Harry Potter Re-Read 2017 (HP & The Sorcerer’s Stone)

For 2017, I decided I wanted to re-read the Harry Potter books since it has been a long time, and to also read HP related books. For January, my husband got me this beautiful edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

img_20170128_095859

 

Re-reading the story and seeing all of the beautiful illustrations was a wonderful experience. There were so many little details that I had forgotten, and several I hadn’t. It was a very nostalgic reading experience. I remember my dad giving me the first book. He’d gotten it from a friend and thought I might like it. I loved it. I also seemed to be one of the few people at my school who loved this series until much later on as well. Waiting for new books to come out was torture.

My heart warmed at some moments and I actually found tears in my eyes during others (particularly when Harry, Ron, and Hermione become friends and when Neville wins house points for standing up to his friends). I felt the same when I re-watched the movie as well.

enhanced-1945-1451918232-1

Along with the movie, I made my first recipe from the Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook I got for Christmas: Bourbon Glazed Pork Loin with Peaches for Adults. It was pretty good and probably one of the most complicated recipes I’ve attempted. My husband really liked it as well. I plan to make at least one recipe from the book this year.

16387032_10158337407070195_2165266053851337980_n

I also got my first Chocolate Frog card. It was fitting considering I was watching the first movie.

16427581_10158337508120195_1907611685136165628_n

In summary, I loved immersing myself into the world of Harry Potter again. I cannot wait to read the next one, in illustrated form, watch the movie, and make a new recipe. I didn’t get to color in my coloring books yet but I’m sure I will do a few sometime this year.

While I like most of the characters in Harry Potter, Hagrid and Hermione are my favorites. I love Harry, Ron, Neville, and Professor McGonagall as well though.

Until next time!

rvnclaw

 

jnc

 

Leave a Comment

