Harry Potter Re-Read 2017 (HP & The Chamber of Secrets)

For 2017, I decided I wanted to re-read the Harry Potter books since it has been a long time, and to also read HP related books. In February, I read the second book in the series, The Chamber of Secrets, in the illustrated format.

Somehow the illustrations were even more stunning in this edition, though the pages with the spiders were super creepy because I’m with Ron concerning them. One page was so unexpected and realistic that I actually jumped.

I loved re-reading this one as well. I also liked the story/mystery better than the first, though I’m not sure any of the books will ever top the nostalgia from the first book. I felt the same about the movie.

Sadly I didn’t make any recipes from my Harry Potter cookbook because of life. I still haven’t made any new recipes though I’m hoping to get back into them soon.

Anyway, I loved the addition of Dobby and Moaning Myrtle (especially Myrtle from the movies!). I also love to hate Lockhart and I feel the actor who played him in the movie did an amazing job.

And I totally cried when Hagrid returned in the movie. Not even going to lie.

I feel like a lot of the scenes from the books like the Quidditch Match and the Polyjuice Potion worked a bit better in the movie but I still loved both versions.

I am so glad I decided to re-read this series.

Leave a Comment

