One Lovely Blog Award

Today, I learned that Author Ashely has nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award. Thanks, Ashley! Check out her blog, guys. So here’s the nomination rules:

  1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Post the blog award image on your page.
  3. Tell 7 facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 other blogs.
  5. Let the nominees know they been chosen.

Seven facts about myself:

1. I can be really shy in person. Part of the reason is due to speech problems I’ve had since I was little. A lot of people assume I am outgoing because I find it so much easier to communicate via written form. Friends have accused me of writing “novel-length” letters!

 

2. I am a book addict. Seriously. I can’t help coming back with more books from the library even if I already have some checked out. I have a small, 2-row bookcase crammed with new books I haven’t read yet. And I still want to buy more books (sadly do not have the money, only the urge). Something must be wrong with me.

 

3. I love controversial books, shows, and movies. Ironically it seems a lot of my book ideas are also somewhat controversial. Typically religion seems to be a big theme with me, usually pointing out what is wrong with religion while still ensuring that belief itself isn’t bad.

 

4. I’ve never been outside the US. I also haven’t visited many states.

 

I’ve been to/through: North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Virginia, West Virginia, Ohio, Wisconsin, Tennessee, Minnesota, Iowa.

I really want to visit: Maine, New Mexico, England, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Australia, Belgium, and possibly Scotland. Though to be honest, I would be fine going to most places just to have visited and experienced them.

 

5. I am still learning to swim and suffer from a water phobia.

 

6. If you can’t tell, I love colors. Like a graphic design friend of mine often says, “Color is kinda my thing!” It annoys me when people assume that those who like rainbows are gay; no, many people just like rainbows and many colors.

Technically, the original rainbow flag that the gay community used to represent them also had hot pink and turquoise in their flag but it was too expensive to get these colors so they went with the basic red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple. The more you know!

And no, I have no problem with anyone who is gay. I’m just personally not gay myself.

 

7. I’m a bit of a Grammar Nazi when it comes to the written word. I actually enjoy proofreading and critiquing–as long as it isn’t my own work.

 

My blog nominations:

1. You’re Absolutely Write

2. Coffee Cups and Musing Moments

3. Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Yes, I only have 3 at the moment. Since I just started this blog, I’m still new to the whole blogging thing. I’ll nominate more blogs as I become aware of them.

4 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. I suffered from number 5 as well. If I may suggest, try lying flat on water surface. Be at peace and loosen yourself up. My instructor always says:
    ‘Never fight the water, you can’t ever win.’

    1. Good saying but it’s going to take some time. Being thrown into the deep end of the pool or being pulled beneath the water by a family member really didn’t help me any. Some people seem surprised that I’m still trying to learn. I’ve learned to swim somewhat okay in water that doesn’t go above my head. I’m still nervous about going any deeper, though. I’ll have to get over it with time. Thanks!

Leave a Comment